Wisconsin wingLESS Sprints

Rain Wins Season Opening Feature


Wisconsin wingLESS Sprints

Rain Wins Season Opening Feature

The season opener for IRA's AutoMeter Wisconsonsin wingLESS Sprint Series powered by Gandrud Performance Parts went trackside at the Plymouth Dirt Track on a hot and very windy late afternoon Saturday.

Twenty-two teams made the journey up in hopes the weather would cooperate and the predicted rain would hold off. Qualifying and three very entertaining heats got in for the wingless, before Mother Nature finally won out after two prior rain delays, with the third and final shower combined with very close lightening decided to dampen what was sure to be a great main event as it hit as the cars were on the track lining up for their pace lap. With two of the four divisions on hand getting their features in, the night was deemed complete and the A-main field will evenly split their purse, with the two DNS cars getting B-main money. Show up, Qualifying, and Heat points will be awarded with the A-main teams each receiving 30 A-main points, and the DNS cars receiving non-transfer B-main points.

Veteran Johnny Fahl set quick time on the third-mile Plymouth clay with a lap of 13.756, followed by Jimmy Sivia, Tyler Kuxhouse, Rusty Egan, Zach Raidart, Tristan Furseth, Allen Hafford, and Ryan Marshall with 19 cars qualifying within a second of fast time. The All Star Performance Heat went to Rusty Egan, the Weld Racing Heat to Ryan Marshall, and the Behling Racing Equipment Heat to Chris Klemko. Sivia, Egan, and Fahl are all tied for the point lead following points earned.

The AutoMeter Wisconsin wingLESS Sprint Series powered by Gandrud returns to Plymouth on May 18th, with their next event being slated for Wilmot Raceway May 4th.

Article Credit: Steve Sinclair

Submitted By: Dakoda Tennyson

Article Media

Back to News

Upcoming Events

IRA Sprint Series
Hoosier Racing Tire
Super Shox
Quarter Master
Auto Meter
Vahlco Wheels
Allstar Performance
ATM Innovation
Bell Helmets
CSI Suspension
Behling Racing Equip.
Diversified Machine Inc
Maxim Racing
Schoenfeld Headers
Simpson Race Products
Brewington Electric