Wisconsin wingLESS Sprints

Furseth Outlasts Egan for Founders Night Win


Wisconsin wingLESS Sprints

Furseth Outlasts Egan for Founders Night Win

Tristan Furseth and the #57 Team entered 2023 completely new to the sprint car world and a with a goal to simply complete races and try to learn as much as possible. After picking up last year's Rookie of the Year Award and turning heads with some great late-season speed, they entered the 2024 racing year with high hopes.

A little over a year since their sprint car debut, the 20-year-old Furseth has achieved something that some racers spend their entire career searching for; a main event win.

Starting on the outside of the front row, Furseth pulled ahead of pole sitter Rusty Egan to take the lead on lap 4 the 20 lap A Main at Wilmot Raceway. Behind the top 2, Johnny Fahl made a daring 3-wide maneuver between 2021 series champion Ryan Marshall and Zach Raidart to take the 3rd position. Up at the front, Egan and Furseth continued to do battle for the lead with Egan looking for his second feature win of 2024.

While the Furseth-Egan battle raged up front, Jimmy Sivia, Ryan Marshall and Johnny Fahl waged war for the 3rd spot until Marshall's #7X clipped the backstretch wall and sent the Kansasville, WI native flipping into turn 3. Derek Crane was collected in the incident as well and thankfully, all drivers involved walked away under their own power.

After a lengthy red flag and cleanup period, Furseth led the field back to green but Egan found speed on the top side to take the lead back with just 4 laps to go. Just as Egan and Furseth were beginning to check out on the field, the final caution flag of the feature flew for Mitchell Reich in the #21T spinning in turn 2.

On the final restart, Furseth dove low into turn 1 and pulled even with Egan and continued to hassle the #50 until taking the lead back coming to the white flag. Egan powered to the cushion once again but couldn't get the move done and Furseth took the checkered flag first by just over a tenth of a second from Egan, Fahl, Sivia and Raidart rounding out the top 5.

Johnny Fahl took the night's Quick Time award with Sivia, Bryce Andrews and Miles Doherty picking up heat race victories. Tommy Colburn earned the B Feature win.

Coming up next for the AutoMeter Wisconsin wingLESS Sprint Series is a massive triple header weekend. The swing kicks off on Friday night, May 31st at the Eagle Valley Speedway in Jim Falls, WI and the series will stay in the Northwoods on Saturday for a stop at the Cedar Lake Speedway in New Richmond. The weekend concludes at the historic Angell Park Speedway in Sun Prairie, WI on Sunday, June 2nd.

HW Designs Photo

A Feature 20 Laps | 00:30:15.915

  1. 57F-Tristan Furseth[2]; 2. 50-Rusty Egan[1]; 3. 0-John Fahl[4]; 4. 91-Jimmy Sivia[7]; 5. 23Z-Zach Raidart[6]; 6. 711-Tyler Kuxhouse[5]; 7. 40-Tim Cox[8]; 8. 11-Austin Hansen[12]; 9. 17-Bryce Andrews[10]; 10. 70-Chris Klemko[14]; 11. 38-Allen Hafford[16]; 12. 8D-Miles Doherty[9]; 13. 70H-Tate Hensley[11]; 14. 99J-Seth Johnson[15]; 15. 29OG-Tom Eller[18]; 16. 7D-Josh Davidson[20]; 17. 24-Eric Wilke[17]; 18. 4G-George Gaertner III[22]; 19. 7-Trinity Uttech[21]; 20. 1-Tommy Colburn[19]; 21. 86-Johnny Meyer[23]; 22. (DNF) 21T-Mitchell Reich[24]; 23. (DNF) 7X-Ryan Marshall[3]; 24. (DNF) 59-Derek Crane[13]

B Feature 10 Laps | 00:15:36.704

  1. 1-Tommy Colburn[1]; 2. 7D-Josh Davidson[2]; 3. 7-Trinity Uttech[4]; 4. 4G-George Gaertner III[3]; 5. 86-Johnny Meyer[7]; 6. 21T-Mitchell Reich[6]; 7. (DNF) 17M-Matt Rypel[9]; 8. (DNF) 8-Daniel Nelson[8]; 9. (DNF) 29J-Ralph Johnson[5]

Heat 1 8 Laps | 00:06:30.381

  1. 91-Jimmy Sivia[2]; 2. 70H-Tate Hensley[1]; 3. 0-John Fahl[4]; 4. 70-Chris Klemko[6]; 5. 50-Rusty Egan[3]; 6. 38-Allen Hafford[5]; 7. 4G-George Gaertner III[8]; 8. 29J-Ralph Johnson[7]; 9. (DNF) 8-Daniel Nelson[9]

Heat 2 8 Laps | 00:09:09.437

  1. 17-Bryce Andrews[1]; 2. 7X-Ryan Marshall[4]; 3. 711-Tyler Kuxhouse[3]; 4. 40-Tim Cox[2]; 5. 99J-Seth Johnson[7]; 6. 24-Eric Wilke[5]; 7. 7-Trinity Uttech[8]; 8. 7D-Josh Davidson[6]; 9. (DNF) 86-Johnny Meyer[9]

Heat 3 8 Laps | 00:10:11.347

  1. 8D-Miles Doherty[2]; 2. 57F-Tristan Furseth[4]; 3. 11-Austin Hansen[6]; 4. 59-Derek Crane[1]; 5. 23Z-Zach Raidart[3]; 6. 29OG-Tom Eller[7]; 7. 1-Tommy Colburn[5]; 8. 17M-Matt Rypel[9]; 9. (DNF) 21T-Mitchell Reich[8]

Qualifying | 00:06:00.443

  1. 0-John Fahl, 00:14.784[17]; 2. 7X-Ryan Marshall, 00:14.958[12]; 3. 57F-Tristan Furseth, 00:14.983[24]; 4. 50-Rusty Egan, 00:15.064[21]; 5. 711-Tyler Kuxhouse, 00:15.088[4]; 6. 23Z-Zach Raidart, 00:15.269[7]; 7. 91-Jimmy Sivia, 00:15.294[2]; 8. 40-Tim Cox, 00:15.307[18]; 9. 8D-Miles Doherty, 00:15.312[25]; 10. 70H-Tate Hensley, 00:15.324[20]; 11. 17-Bryce Andrews, 00:15.375[16]; 12. 59-Derek Crane, 00:15.398[1]; 13. 38-Allen Hafford, 00:15.461[10]; 14. 24-Eric Wilke, 00:15.494[5]; 15. 1-Tommy Colburn, 00:15.510[8]; 16. 70-Chris Klemko, 00:15.562[9]; 17. 7D-Josh Davidson, 00:15.699[15]; 18. 11-Austin Hansen, 00:15.712[6]; 19. 29J-Ralph Johnson, 00:15.726[22]; 20. 99J-Seth Johnson, 00:15.859[14]; 21. 29OG-Tom Eller, 00:16.065[11]; 22. 4G-George Gaertner III, 00:16.380[19]; 23. 7-Trinity Uttech, 00:16.803[3]; 24. 21T-Mitchell Reich, 00:17.917[23]; 25. 86-Johnny Meyer, 00:18.057[26]; 26. 8-Daniel Nelson, 00:21.500[13]; 27. (DNF) 17M-Matt Rypel[27]

Article Credit: Loren Kelly-Box3 Media

Submitted By: Loren Kelly

Article Media

Back to News

Upcoming Events

IRA Sprint Series
Hoosier Racing Tire
Super Shox
Quarter Master
Auto Meter
Vahlco Wheels
Allstar Performance
ATM Innovation
Bell Helmets
CSI Suspension
Behling Racing Equip.
Diversified Machine Inc
Maxim Racing
Schoenfeld Headers
Simpson Race Products
Brewington Electric