Wisconsin wingLESS Sprints

Hensley Earns First Career Feature Triumph at Plymouth


Wisconsin wingLESS Sprints

Hensley Earns First Career Feature Triumph at Plymouth

A cowboy up Plymouth Dirt Track greeted the drivers of the Wisconsin WingLESS Sprint Series this past Saturday night, which brought both experienced and young talent to the front of the field.

While the early laps of the main event were fraught with incidents, polesitter Tate Hensley held strong. Enduring restart challenges from 2022 Series Rookie of the Year Eric Wilke, experienced veteran Johnny Fahl and 2024 Rookie of the Year Tristan Furseth, Hensley kept his Avon Automotive #70H at the front with a hornet's nest of cars behind him.

With curfew approaching, the race was shortened to 15 laps and restarted for the final time with Hensley out front. Wilke charged to the outside of the speedway in turns 3 and 4 in a desperate attempt to overtake both Hensley and Fahl but biked on the cushion and fell back to 6th. Hensley survived multiple side by side battles with Fahl in the closing laps while Furseth, 2021 Series Champion Ryan Marshall, Jimmy Sivia and Austin Hansen waged war for the top 5 positions. At the checkered flag Hensley out-dragged Fahl to the line, taking his first career A Main victory by just 2 tenths of a second over Fahl, with Furseth, Marshall, Sivia, Wilke, Hansen, 2022 Series Co-Champion Tim Cox, Tyler Kuxhouse and Rusty Egan rounding out the Top 10.

Kuxhouse took the overall quick-time award on the night, setting a new Plymouth track record in the process with a lap of 13.719 seconds. Wilke, Egan and Marshall took the night's heat race victories.

HW Designs Photo

Full Results: 5/18/24-Plymouth Dirt Track
A Feature 1 20 Laps | 00:33:19.512

  1. 70H-Tate Hensley[1]; 2. 0-John Fahl[3]; 3. 57-Tristan Furseth[5]; 4. 7X-Ryan Marshall[6]; 5. 91-Jimmy Sivia[9]; 6. 24-Eric Wilke[2]; 7. 11-Austin Hansen[14]; 8. 40-Tim Cox[7]; 9. 711-Tyler Kuxhouse[8]; 10. 50-Rusty Egan[10]; 11. 99J-Seth Johnson[13]; 12. 7D-Josh Davidson[19]; 13. 7-Trinity Uttech[12]; 14. 29J-Ralph Johnson[16]; 15. 67-Miles Doherty[21]; 16. 86-Johnny Meyer[22]; 17. (DNF) 38-Allen Hafford[11]; 18. (DNF) 23Z-Zach Raidart[4]; 19. (DNF) 17-Bryce Andrews[17]; 20. (DNF) 29OG-Tom Eller[20]; 21. (DNF) 4G-George Gaertner III[15]; 22. (DNF) 4L-Lance Thompson[18]

Heat 1 8 Laps | 00:05:18.912

  1. 24-Eric Wilke[2]; 2. 711-Tyler Kuxhouse[4]; 3. 57-Tristan Furseth[3]; 4. 7-Trinity Uttech[1]; 5. 11-Austin Hansen[6]; 6. 29J-Ralph Johnson[5]; 7. 7D-Josh Davidson[7]; 8. 86-Johnny Meyer[8]

Heat 2 8 Laps | 00:04:30.928

  1. 50-Rusty Egan[1]; 2. 40-Tim Cox[4]; 3. 23Z-Zach Raidart[3]; 4. 70H-Tate Hensley[2]; 5. 99J-Seth Johnson[5]; 6. 4L-Lance Thompson[6]; 7. 29OG-Tom Eller[7]

Heat 3 8 Laps | 00:04:30.773

  1. 7X-Ryan Marshall[4]; 2. 91-Jimmy Sivia[2]; 3. 38-Allen Hafford[1]; 4. 0-John Fahl[3]; 5. 4G-George Gaertner III[6]; 6. 17-Bryce Andrews[5]; 7. 67-Miles Doherty[7]

Qualifying 1 | 00:08:49.000

  1. 711-Tyler Kuxhouse, 00:13.719[2]; 2. 40-Tim Cox, 00:13.722[21]; 3. 7X-Ryan Marshall, 00:13.985[14]; 4. 57-Tristan Furseth, 00:13.992[3]; 5. 23Z-Zach Raidart, 00:13.995[17]; 6. 0-John Fahl, 00:14.138[18]; 7. 24-Eric Wilke, 00:14.161[16]; 8. 70H-Tate Hensley, 00:14.259[19]; 9. 91-Jimmy Sivia, 00:14.276[6]; 10. 7-Trinity Uttech, 00:14.290[11]; 11. 50-Rusty Egan, 00:14.292[12]; 12. 38-Allen Hafford, 00:14.347[9]; 13. 29J-Ralph Johnson, 00:14.413[20]; 14. 99J-Seth Johnson, 00:14.510[13]; 15. 17-Bryce Andrews, 00:14.592[7]; 16. 11-Austin Hansen, 00:14.690[10]; 17. 4L-Lance Thompson, 00:14.880[5]; 18. 86-Johnny Meyer, 00:14.949[22]; 19. 4G-George Gaertner III, 00:14.993[15]; 20. 7D-Josh Davidson, 00:15.028[1]; 21. 29OG-Tom Eller, 00:15.150[8]; 22. (DNS) 67-Miles Doherty

The Autometer Wisconsin wingLESS Sprints presented by the IRA will be back this weekend at the Wilmot Raceway in Wilmot, WI for the annual IRA "Founder's Night" event. The Bumper to Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprints and 1175 Sports Bar & Eatery IRA Lightning Sprints will also be on the card.

Tickets can be purchased in advance through the My Race Pass app or online by clicking on the series schedule and selecting this upcoming Saturday's event. If you're unable to make it out to Wilmot this Saturday, the event will be broadcast live on FloRacing.

Article Credit: Loren Kelly-Box3 Media

Submitted By: Loren Kelly

Back to News

Upcoming Events

IRA Sprint Series
Hoosier Racing Tire
Super Shox
Quarter Master
Auto Meter
Vahlco Wheels
Allstar Performance
ATM Innovation
Bell Helmets
CSI Suspension
Behling Racing Equip.
Diversified Machine Inc
Maxim Racing
Schoenfeld Headers
Simpson Race Products
Brewington Electric